Pull back the curtain and see how a suspense writer puts the thrills and chills together.

SIGN UP FOR SNEAK PEEKS OF MY NEXT BOOK + NEWSLETTER-ONLY UPDATES.

Welcome to the world, Dragonfly Summer!

Today’s the day: Dragonfly Summer is now available. If you already have an Audible subscription, it’s included, and if not, you can listen to it through their free trial.

It’s hard to believe that this is my tenth published book. It doesn’t seem so long ago that my first, a little novella called The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave, won a contest and was subsequently published by Samhain. Even though I’d written several books before that breakthrough, I’d suffered a number of setbacks, and it didn’t seem like I’d ever be where I am now.

Dragonfly Summer was one of those books written before Bear. It took a long, long time for it to fly.

I’m often pigeonholed as a horror writer, even though I write a lot more supernatural suspense and mystery than horror, so I’ll say upfront–Dragonfly Summer is NOT a horror story. I’d classify it as psychological thriller, with a strong element of mystery.

I have to thank my lovely agent Rosie Jonker for championing this book and being so supportive, along with the team at Audible, including my editor Lara Blackman, narrator Natalie Gold, and Erin Hotchkiss from marketing.

And, of course, all of you–I don’t know where I’d be without your encouragement, support, and enthusiasm. I hope you enjoy Dragonfly Summer. I’d love to hear what you think.

A lot of people have asked if Dragonfly Summer will be available in print or ebook formats. The short answer is yes, but it’ll take at least a year. As an Audible Only release, Audible has a year’s exclusive rights to this title. This is a great time to try an audiobook if you haven’t before!

Jo Carter never thought she’d return to Clear Springs, Minnesota. But when the former journalist receives a cryptic note about the disappearance of her friend Sam twenty years before, she’s compelled to find out what really happened. During her investigation, she learns another high school friend has died in a mysterious accident. Nothing is as it seems, and Jo must probe Clear Springs’ darkest corners and her own painful and unreliable memories to discover the truth – and save herself from a killer who could still be on the hunt.

Deliciously twisty and suspenseful from the first minute to the last, Dragonfly Summer proves that no small town’s secrets can stay buried for good.

The perfect next listen for fans of Wendy Walker and Shari Lapena.

*

Next week, I hope to return with my usual mysterious places, unsolved mysteries, and tales of the supernatural. Thanks for bearing with me.

PS: If you’d like to learn more about the inspiration behind this book, click here for the full story.

1 part newsletter, 1 part unnerving updates,
2 parts sneak peeks of new projects.

22 Comments

  1. Avatar

    Congratulations! You had a lot of books in a short amount of time.

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks so much, Alex. And yet, it feels like I’ve barely begun. Thanks for featuring Dragonfly Summer on your blog.

      Reply
  2. Avatar

    Happy book birthday! This is awesome.

    One note: The second image in your blog is appearing as broken to me.

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks, Randee. I checked, and it’s showing up fine to me, even on my phone. I can’t see anything wrong with it, so it must be a glitch. Sorry about that. (It’s the book cover.)

      Reply
  3. Avatar

    Congratulations! Wishing Dragonfly Summer lots of success out in the world! 🙂

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks so much, Madeline!

      Reply
  4. Avatar

    Congratulations on the new release! Looking forward to the print version 🙂
    Debbie

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks so much, Debbie. It’ll be a while, but it will happen.

      Reply
  5. Avatar

    Excited to start listening. I already have it in my Audible library. What a great opportunity. Congrats on all your successes! Keep those stories coming!

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks so much, Mary! I will try my best. I hope you love the book.

      Reply
  6. Avatar

    Already signed up for my free trial of Audible, already listened to the Prologue, and already have goosebumps and can’t WAIT to listen to the rest of it! You know I will also be purchasing a print copy whenever its out, but I can’t wait a year to get the pleasure of a new J.H. Moncrieff!! So proud of you and I have a feeling I’m going to love it!

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks so much, Nikki. Your encouragement and support mean the world to me–seriously.

      Reply
  7. Avatar

    Congrats! Does Audible do promotions for it since it’s exclusive?

    Reply
    • JH

      Thanks, Diane. Yes, they do.

      Reply
    • JH

      Thanks, Patricia.

      Reply
  8. Avatar

    Congrats again! Since I barely have time to read – and have a list of books I’m hoping to devour this year – I might be ready for Dragonfly Summer by the time it’s released in book form. Although, I think your book will still beat me! 🙂

    Reply
    • JH

      No worries, Liesbet. I don’t expect everyone who reads this blog to read my books.

      Reply
  9. Avatar

    Looks like a great “hear”. Much success on your 10th release.

    I couldn’t see the pic. Might be my browser (Firefox).

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Reply
  10. Avatar

    Congrats! I didn’t know Audible Only was a thing. I agree it’s a good way to promote audiobooks as a great benefit/convenience for many.

    Reply
  11. Avatar

    Loved, Loved, Loved the book, can’t wait to own it in print form!!

    Reply
    • JH

      Thank you so much, Lily! That makes me so happy.

      Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.